Translate This: Working in another language

 

20170404_141915

Pictures are the international language

Imagine you are on a deserted island with another person. To get off the island you must work together to build a boat. Now imagine that person does not speak the same language as you. How do you build the boat?

This may seem like a ridiculous comparison to working in another country, but the main theme is the same: our team and our clients are working toward a common goal and different languages are a barrier to achieving it.

With the end goal in mind, we deploy many tactics to try to understand each other:

  • Pictures are the international language. Visuals can help to fill the gaps and clarify ideas. After struggling for a while to understand a complex problem, both my team and the clients were relieved when one of my teammates took to the whiteboard to draw it out.
  • Ask, ask, and ask again, then ask in a totally different way. Since there is no way for us to verify if our translated questions were understood as we intended, we will ask multiple people the same question, ask the same question multiple times, or ask the same question in different ways.
  • “Let me see if I understand…” This is a statement I make multiple times a day as I work between our translators and our clients. By repeating back what I think I’ve heard, it helps to ensure I’ve heard it correctly.
  • “Did you hear that too?” At times, I think I understood a point only to find one of my teammates heard something different. We often check in with each other to reach a common understanding.
  • Speak slow and use keywords. My teammates like to tease me about how fast I speak, but when talking to the translator and clients, even they’ll admit that I slow my speech down considerably so it can be more easily digested. I try to highlight keywords by using simple and concise language and by saying things in multiple ways.
  • Use your body. Both intentional and unintentional body language can say a lot. I let my inner Italian run free and use my hands to demonstrate what I am saying. However, it is just as important to remember what your body language is saying for you when you don’t realize it. Am I smiling or frowning? Do I seem serious or happy or angry or intimidating? This can be the difference between someone being comfortable enough to talk to you and being too nervous.

Every question we ask must be translated into Vietnamese and then the response translated back into English. Multiply that formula by every follow-up question, every clarification, every change in direction. Meetings take twice the time and you’re never quite sure if your point was understood. Despite these challenges, we still persist, because we’re all in it together. We’re all building the boat.

Screen Shot 2017-04-17 at 8.17.10 PM

For many of my teammates, translation doesn’t end at English, they must also translate to their own native languages.

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-14 at 11.55.02 (1)

Translators working hard to help our team understand a Vietnamese presentation before we present back to the group in English.

 

 

3 comments

  1. Fernanda Pirmez · April 17

    Oh yes, italians do use their hands, face, body and soul to communicate!! You go girl, and very nice work in slowing down the speed of your speech! Hahaha Helps me too to catch up with the Boss’ messages 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marquis Cabrera · April 18

    Yes, this is awesome! I love this: “Ask, ask, and ask again, then ask in a totally different way.” Mary-Louise Pratt wrote in Arts of The Contact Zone that when you cross the contact zone and make a connection and engage in culture assimilation you can really dig into the work of doing, building, and thinking, which is what you guys are doing. I am so proud of you and team and loved the opening analogy. Good stuff. Keep the blogs coming!

    Like

    • darciepie · April 19

      Thank you! There is so much more that could be done with a lot more time, but we are trying to make at least a small impact while we are here.

      Like

Leave a Reply

